For a home-based business, no single policy is the best, and the first question is whether cover reaches the business at all. This page does not state what a homeowners or renters policy covers for business activity, because that is not in the sources it relies on. What the sources do establish is what a business policy covers and excludes: the Insurance Information Institute says general liability covers bodily injury or property damage to others arising out of non-professional negligent acts, and a business owners policy bundles property, business interruption and liability cover. As of October 13, 2026, Hiscox states that general liability starts at $30 a month, and that figure is a floor, not a typical price.
What is the best insurance for a home-based business?
This page does not name one, and it does not claim to have used any provider. The right answer depends on what the business does, what it keeps at home, who works there and whether clients visit. Premiums depend on trade, payroll, revenue and location, and no published figure here is a quote for a home-based business.
What the sources let this page say is narrower and still useful. A home-based business has the same legal and liability questions as any other, and the named exclusions in a general liability policy apply wherever the work is done. Working from a spare room does not remove the need to check whether professional liability, workers' compensation or other covers are needed.
The one question this page cannot answer is how a home insurance policy treats business activity. That should be asked of the home insurer directly, in writing, and the answer compared with what a business policy would add.
What can a home-based business learn from the official sources?
Three things apply regardless of where the business operates. First, the Institute describes what general liability covers: bodily injury and property damage cover protects against liability for harm to others arising out of non-professional negligent acts. A client who is hurt visiting a home office, or property damaged during a job, are the ordinary examples of that kind of claim.
Second, the Institute names what general liability leaves out, and those exclusions travel with the business. Third, the SBA says the federal government requires every business with employees to carry workers' compensation, unemployment and disability insurance, and that some states require more.
None of these points depends on the business having a commercial address. They apply equally to a business run from a kitchen table.
Which providers publish a price, and who owns each figure?
The providers below are listed alphabetically, and the order is not a ranking. Prices are as of October 13, 2026, were read at each provider's own pages, and move over time. Every figure belongs to the company that published it, describes its own customers or products, and is for general liability, not for a home-based business specifically.
Chubb. Chubb publishes no small-business premium, and it quotes per business. Nothing here implies a figure exists.
Hiscox. Hiscox states that general liability starts at $30 a month. Its page lists business size, industry, location and coverage amount as what moves it, so the figure is a floor and not a typical price. Business size is named explicitly, which is relevant to a very small operation.
Insureon. Insureon is a broker, not a carrier, so a policy bought through it is issued by an insurer it places the business with. It reports an average general liability premium of $45 a month, with 22% of its customers under $30 and 41% between $30 and $60, and annual policies from $265 to $3,030. Those figures are the median of policies sold to roughly 100,000 of its own small business customers. A broker can carry one description of a home-based business to several insurers.
ERGO NEXT. The company was formerly NEXT Insurance. It says general liability starts at $19 a month for some businesses, and it reports that 45% of its customers pay $45 a month or less. Its trade examples run from about $20 a month for a personal trainer to about $245 a month for a restaurant, and the page says an exact price needs a quote. It publishes the only trade-level examples here, and none is described as home-based.
The Hartford. The Hartford publishes an average of about $810 a year, or about $67 a month, for general liability. That is the carrier's own average across its customers. Its page says costs vary by state and that a specific premium could be higher or lower.
Thimble. Thimble publishes no premium on its site and quotes per business. Its distinguishing feature is short-term and by-the-job cover, so it should be compared on that and not on price. A home-based business that takes occasional jobs may find that structure worth a quote.
| Provider | What it publishes | What the figure describes |
|---|---|---|
| Chubb | No premium published | Quotes per business |
| Hiscox | General liability from $30 a month | A starting floor |
| Insureon | Average $45 a month; annual policies $265 to $3,030 | Median of policies sold to its own customers |
| NEXT Insurance | From $19 a month for some businesses; trade examples about $20 to about $245 a month | Its own customers and examples |
| The Hartford | About $810 a year, roughly $67 a month | Its own customers' average |
| Thimble | No premium published | Quotes per business |
Can these figures be compared directly?
Not cleanly. A starting price is the bottom of a range, an average sits somewhere inside it, and a median is the middle policy a company sold. Setting $19, $30, $45 and $67 side by side says little about which provider is cheaper for a given business.
For a home-based business the gap may be wider still, because none of the published figures is described as applying to one. Only matching quotes for the same business settle the question, and those quotes should state plainly that the business operates from the owner's home.
Is a business owners policy a fit for a home-based business?
It may be, depending on what the business owns. A business owners policy bundles property insurance for buildings and contents owned by the company, business interruption insurance for lost income after a fire or other catastrophe, and liability protection. The Institute says it is aimed at small and mid-sized businesses that generally face the same kind and degree of risk.
Two details deserve a close read. The property cover refers to buildings and contents owned by the company, so a business that owns little beyond a laptop may find the bundle covers less than it expects, and one that works from rented or personal property should ask how it is treated. This page does not state how any provider treats that.
The limits are stated plainly: "BOPs do NOT cover professional liability, auto insurance, worker's compensation or health and disability insurance." A home-based consultant, designer or adviser therefore still needs to ask about professional liability, and a business using a vehicle needs to ask about auto cover.
What does a general liability policy leave out?
The Institute names the exclusions, and they are the home-based owner's real exposure. Workers' compensation and employment practices liability are excluded but can be bought as separate policies. Pollution liability is excluded and can be bought as an endorsement. Liquor liability, professional liability and other risks may also be excluded.
The Institute states the consequence plainly: without the extra liquor cover, a standard commercial general liability policy does not protect a business against liquor-related claims. The same logic applies to each excluded item. If the business faces that risk and does not buy the separate cover, the policy will not respond.
Many home-based businesses sell advice, design or specialist services, which is where professional liability matters most. This page does not state what any provider's professional liability cover includes or costs.
What does the law require?
The SBA states that the federal government requires every business with employees to carry workers' compensation, unemployment and disability insurance. It adds that some states require additional insurance and that laws requiring insurance vary by state. A general liability policy satisfies none of those three, and a home address does not exempt a business from them.
This page does not state a requirement for any particular state or for home-based operation. The place to confirm one is that state's own insurance department. The National Association of Insurance Commissioners publishes a small business insurance shopping tool, the Washington State Office of the Insurance Commissioner has a guide to how business insurance works, and the Texas Department of Insurance has a page on general liability insurance. A business in another state should look for its own department's equivalent.
Does an LLC remove the need for home-business insurance?
No. The SBA says limited liability protects personal assets in most instances, but that the protection has limits. The entity and the policy do different jobs, and one does not stand in for the other.
If someone runs a single-member LLC from home, the entity separates the business from the owner in most instances, while a policy pays for covered claims the business faces. ZenBusiness is the entity half of that pairing. It sells no insurance of any kind, so choosing a policy is a separate decision.
How should a home-based owner keep the cost down without leaving gaps?
Start with a plain description of the business: what it does, what it keeps at home, who works there, whether clients visit, the revenue and the location. Give the same description to every source, including the home insurer, so each answer is built on the same facts.
Ask the home insurer in writing whether business activity, business property and client visits are covered, excluded or available by endorsement. Then ask each business insurer for the same limit and deductible in writing, because this page does not state typical figures for either.
Put the named exclusions to each one as questions: is workers' compensation, employment practices, pollution, liquor or professional liability excluded, and can each be added or bought separately, and at what price? Ask who issues each policy and who handles claims, especially through a broker.
Then check the state insurance department for anything legally required, and compare totals last, once coverage types, limits, deductibles and exclusions match. A lower premium that leaves a required cover unfilled, or a gap that matters to the business, is not a saving.
Sources
- Insurance Information Institute, "Commercial general liability insurance"
- U.S. Small Business Administration, "Get business insurance"
- Insurance Information Institute, "What does a business owners policy (BOP) cover"
- National Association of Insurance Commissioners, "Small business insurance shopping tool"
- Washington State Office of the Insurance Commissioner, "Learn how business insurance works"
- Texas Department of Insurance, "General liability insurance"
This is general information rather than legal, tax or accounting advice, and requirements vary and change.