For a small service business, Hiscox is a reasonable provider to quote, mainly because it states a clear starting point, but no source on this page shows what $30 a month actually buys. Hiscox states that general liability starts at $30 a month, which is a floor and not a typical price, and its page lists business size, industry, location and coverage amount as what moves it. The figure does not say what limits or deductible apply, and it does not say what the policy excludes. Only a quote for the same business, set beside quotes from other providers, shows whether Hiscox is the right fit.

Is Hiscox the best general liability insurance for a small service business?

This page does not name any provider as the best, and it does not claim to have used Hiscox. What it can say is that Hiscox publishes a stated starting price and names the factors that move it, which gives a service business something to measure other quotes against.

Premiums depend on trade, payroll, revenue and location. A cleaner, a consultant and a repair contractor can receive very different prices from the same carrier, and Hiscox's page says as much by naming industry and business size.

The fair test is to describe the work in detail to Hiscox and to at least one other provider and compare what comes back, including what each policy excludes.

What does \$30 a month buy?

On the evidence available, a starting point and nothing more. Hiscox states that general liability starts at $30 a month. This page does not state what limit that figure carries, what deductible applies or which businesses qualify for it.

That means the figure cannot be read as a price for any particular service business. It is the lowest point of a range, as of October 13, 2026, and a business could pay well above it.

What general liability itself covers is better documented, and that is the real answer to what the money buys.

What does general liability cover?

The Insurance Information Institute says bodily injury and property damage cover protects against liability for harm to others arising out of non-professional negligent acts. For a service business, the ordinary examples are a client's property damaged during a job or a visitor hurt on site.

Personal and advertising injury covers libel, slander, false arrest, infringing on another's copyright and malicious prosecution. Medical payments cover can be triggered without legal action, so a small injury can be paid without a lawsuit.

This page does not state whether Hiscox's own policy wording follows this description in every respect. The policy document is what governs, so read it before buying.

What does the \$30 floor leave out?

The exclusions are where a low starting price can mislead. The table below sets out what the Institute says about a standard general liability policy.

ExclusionWhat the Institute saysWhy it matters to a service business
Workers' compensationExcluded, can be bought as a separate policyMatters once the business has helpers or staff
Employment practices liabilityExcluded, can be bought as a separate policyClaims about how staff are treated are not covered
Pollution liabilityExcluded, can be bought as an endorsementMatters where chemicals or treatments are used
Liquor liabilityMay be excluded; without extra cover, liquor-related claims are not protectedMatters to any business serving alcohol
Professional liabilityMay be excludedMatters to businesses that sell advice or specialist work

The Institute adds that other risks may also be excluded. This page does not state which of these Hiscox can add, or at what price, so ask directly and get the answer in writing.

Why does professional liability matter to a service business?

Many service businesses sell their own judgment: advice, design, analysis or specialist skill. The words "non-professional" in the general liability description leave exactly that work out. A business whose product is its judgment can hold a general liability policy and still have its central risk uncovered.

The Institute notes that professional liability may be excluded and that a business owners policy does not cover it either. This page does not state what Hiscox's professional liability cover includes or costs, so a service business should ask whether it can be added to a general liability policy or must be bought separately.

How does Hiscox sit beside the other providers?

The providers are listed alphabetically, and the order is not a ranking. Prices are as of October 13, 2026, were read at each provider's own pages, and move over time. Every figure belongs to the company that published it and describes its own customers or products, not the market.

Chubb. Chubb does not publish a small-business premium, and it quotes per business. Nothing here implies a figure exists.

Hiscox. Hiscox states that general liability starts at $30 a month. Its page lists business size, industry, location and coverage amount as what moves it, so the figure is a floor and not a typical price. It is the subject of this review, and the figure above is all it publishes here.

Insureon. Insureon is a broker, not a carrier, so a policy bought through it is issued by an insurer it places the business with. It reports an average general liability premium of $45 a month, with 22% of its customers under $30 and 41% between $30 and $60, and annual policies from $265 to $3,030. Those figures are the median of policies sold to roughly 100,000 of its own small business customers.

NEXT Insurance. The company now brands itself ERGO NEXT. It says general liability starts at $19 a month for some businesses, and it reports that 45% of its customers pay $45 a month or less. Its trade examples run from about $20 a month for a personal trainer to about $245 a month for a restaurant, and the page says an exact price needs a quote.

The Hartford. The Hartford publishes an average of about $810 a year, or about $67 a month, for general liability. That is the carrier's own average across its customers. Its page says costs vary by state and that a specific premium could be higher or lower.

Thimble. Thimble publishes no premium on its site and quotes per business. Its distinguishing feature is short-term and by-the-job cover, so it should be compared on that and not on price.

ProviderWhat it publishesWhat the figure describes
ChubbNo premium publishedQuotes per business
HiscoxGeneral liability from $30 a monthA starting floor
InsureonAverage $45 a month; annual policies $265 to $3,030Median of policies sold to its own customers
NEXT InsuranceFrom $19 a month for some businesses; trade examples about $20 to about $245 a monthIts own customers and examples
The HartfordAbout $810 a year, roughly $67 a monthIts own customers' average
ThimbleNo premium publishedQuotes per business

Can Hiscox's \$30 be compared with the other figures?

Only loosely. A starting price is the bottom of a range, an average sits somewhere inside it, and a median is the middle policy a company sold. Setting $19, $30, $45 and $67 side by side says little about which provider is cheaper for a given service business.

One concession is worth making plainly. If the only question is which published starting figure is lower, ERGO NEXT's $19 for some businesses is below Hiscox's $30. That is a point about published floors, and it says nothing about which company will quote lower for a particular business.

What about a business owners policy?

A business owners policy bundles property insurance for buildings and contents the company owns, business interruption insurance for lost income after a fire or other catastrophe, and liability protection. The Institute says it is aimed at small and mid-sized businesses that generally face the same kind and degree of risk.

Its limits are plain: "BOPs do NOT cover professional liability, auto insurance, worker's compensation or health and disability insurance." This page does not state whether Hiscox sells one or what it costs.

What does the law require?

The U.S. Small Business Administration states that the federal government requires every business with employees to carry workers' compensation, unemployment and disability insurance. It adds that some states require additional insurance and that laws requiring insurance vary by state. A general liability policy satisfies none of those three, at $30 a month or any other price.

This page does not state a requirement for any particular state. The place to confirm one is that state's own insurance department. The National Association of Insurance Commissioners publishes a small business insurance shopping tool, the Washington State Office of the Insurance Commissioner has a guide to how business insurance works, and the Texas Department of Insurance has a page on general liability insurance.

Does an LLC remove the need for a policy?

No. The SBA says limited liability protects personal assets in most instances, but that the protection has limits. The entity and the policy do different jobs, and one does not stand in for the other.

If someone runs a single-member LLC, the entity separates the business from the owner in most instances, while a policy pays for covered claims the business faces. ZenBusiness is the entity half of that pairing. It sells no insurance of any kind and is not an alternative to Hiscox, so choosing a policy is a separate decision.

How should a service business decide whether Hiscox fits?

Write a plain description of the work: the tasks, the equipment, who is on site, whether anyone is employed, whether advice is sold, the revenue and the location. Give the same description to Hiscox and to at least one other provider.

Ask each for the same coverage amount, the limit and the deductible in writing, because this page does not state typical figures for either. Put the named exclusions to each as questions, and ask whether workers' compensation, pollution liability and professional liability can be added and at what price.

Ask who issues the policy and who handles claims. Then check the state insurance department for anything legally required, and compare totals last, once coverage types, limits, deductibles and exclusions match. A lower premium that leaves a required cover unfilled, or an exclusion that matters to the work, is not a saving.

Sources

This is general information rather than legal, tax or accounting advice, and requirements vary and change.